2002 Indianapolis 500 Signed Bell XFM-1 Helmet

Now Sold
Out of Stock

2002 Indianapolis 500 Signed Bell XFM-1 Helmet


One-of-a-kind white Bell XFM-1 helmet personally autographed by many of the drivers that took part in the 2002 Indianapolis 500.

Race winner Hélio Castroneves, who also won the 2001 race, became the fifth driver in Indy 500 history to win back-to-back races (and the second of his three Indy 500 wins). The 2002 Indy 500 is largely considered one of the most controversial races in its long and storied history. With just two laps remaining Castroneves led Paul Tracy by just 0.22 seconds. Down the backstretch Tracy made a move to the outside in an attempt to make a pass for the lead. While they were approaching turn three a crash occurred on a different part of the track, bringing out the yellow caution flag. Many people believed Tracy had taken the lead before the yellow flag had come out but race officials would eventually declare Castroneves the race winner. After many protests and appeals, the result was upheld and is one that still divides many race fans to this day.

The end of the race and Paul Tracys views can be seen here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_NXLjvD6j0

The drivers (twenty-three in all) who signed the helmet are as follows:

Dario Franchitti

Rick Treadway

Arie Luyendyk

Eddie Cheever

Richie Hearn

Max Papis

Raul Boesel

Mark Dismore

Felipe Giaffone

Paul Tracy

Jimmy Vasser

Scott Sharp

Shigeaki Hattori

Sarah Fisher

Hélio Castroneves

Gil de Ferran

Kenny Bräck

Billy Boat

Buddy Lazier

Sam Hornish, Jr

Airton Daré

Tomas Scheckter

Robbie Gordon

Many of the drivers that have signed this BELL helmet are former winners of the prestigious Indianapolis 500 race. This helmet would be a great item to add to your collection as a unique souvenir of this historic race.

The helmet is personally signed by all drivers in Sharpie pen and comes with a full Certificate Of Authenticity.